The National Naloxone Reference Group



Formed in 2014 through CREIDU



Key stakeholders involved in jurisdictional naloxone programs to share information and strategise for expanding take-home naloxone (THN) programs in Australia

Key stakeholders from jurisdictional:

- peer organisations,
- harm reduction services,
- peak bodies,
- government departments, and
- research institutes





2016 rescheduling

Lenton, S., Dietze, P. & Jauncey, M. Australia reschedules naloxone for opioid overdose. 2016, MJA: https://www.mja.com.au/journal/2 016/204/4/australia-reschedules-naloxone-opioid-overdose



Federal THN pilot

Australian Government Department of Health: Take home naloxone pilot. https://www.health.gov.au/initiative s-and-programs/take-homenaloxone-pilot



Variation in jurisdictional access

THN Infographic

Variation in jurisdictional access to THN

Extra changes due to COVID-19

= a lot of great progress to keep track of!

NNRG has created an infographic to present up-to-date information on THN by jurisdiction

It will be updated each time the NNRG meets

Audience:

- Consumers
- Policy makers
- Service providers
- Advocates

Available on CREIDU website: https://creidu.edu.au/naloxone



Naloxone access, distribution and training





THN products available



Exclusions of good
Samaritan protection
for intoxication



THN distributed through EDs



OST guidelines with THN



Naloxone training within First Aid



THN distributed by paramedics



Peer training available



THN distributed through NSPs/AOD



Naloxone carried by police



Training available online



THN distributed upon prison release



*Faded icons: projects in the works!

The National Naloxone Reference Group

Coordination

Paul Dietze and Penny Hill (Burnet Institute)



NT

Shayne Kilford and Peter Sidaway (NTAHC)



VIC

Jane Dicka and Sione Crawford (Harm Reduction Victoria)

Suzi Nielsen (Monash University)

Tom Lyons and Frankie Hopkins (DHHS)

Craig Harvey (Barwon Health)

Stuart Kinner and Claire Keen (Melbourne **University**)

James Petty (VAADA)

John Ryan and Stephen McNally (Penington Institute)

ACT

Anke van der Sterren (ATODA) Chris Gough and David Baxter (CAHMA) Megan Arnold (ACT Health)



QLD

Jeremy Hayllar (Qld Health)



SA

Stephen Lymb and Michelle Spudic (SA Health)



TAS

Raimondo Bruno (UTAS)

Myf Briggs (Tas Health)

Jackie Hallam (ATDC)



WA

Simon Lenton (NDRI)

Grace Oh (MHC)

Paul Dessauer (Peer based Harm Reduction WA)

NSW

Phill Read, Rosie Gilliver and John Kearley (Kirketon Road Centre)

Nick Lintzeris (Langton Centre)

Angela Matheson, Lauren Monds and Nicola Lewis (NSW Health)

Marianne Jauncey, Ed Silins and William Wood (Sydney MSIC)